Monday 6 August 2007

Thanks Peter, we're already divided!

The other significant concession today, is that Cairns and Port will go to the March 2008 election with divisions.

“One of the major issues has been concern over the issue of internal boundaries." said Beatie.
“As a result we decided that in line with their wishes the need for internal divisions could be decided on a case-by-case basis in consultation with the new Councils.

“Based on the suggestions and further analysis 26 Councils will go to next year’s election with divisional boundaries and 46 will be undivided.

“The divided councils will include Banana, Scenic Rim, Blackall, Boulia, Bundaberg, Cairns, Cassowary Coast, Cook, Emerald, Etheridge, Gold Coast, Ipswich, Issac, Logan, Longreach, Mackay, North Burnett, Moreton Bay, Northern Peninsula, Redlands, Rockhampton, South Burnett, Sunshine Coast, Tablelands, Torres Strait Regional Council and Whitsunday.

This is imporat for such a geographically spread electorate. However, should these be based on population per representative, and I beleive this is the thinking, then Division

With the Cairns City Council's website deliberatlely vague as to where current divisional boundries are, and many Councillors are often at a lost to where they line starts and stops, I can gather this much so far:-

Division 1
Gordonvale, Babinda, Mirriwinni, Bramston Beach
Edmonton, Gordonnvale, Fishery Falls

Division 2
Edmonton, Hambledon, East Trinity

Division 3
White Rock, Mount Sheridan

Division 4

Division 5
Westcourt, Bungalow, Earleville

Division 6
CBD, City, Aeroglen, Fitzroy Island

Division 7
BUNGALOW, Portsmith

Division 8
Edge Hill

Division 9
Freshwater, Brinsmead, West Whitfield, Park Ridge, Kanimbla, Cityview

Division 10
Machans, Yorkeys, Stratford, Holloways

Division 11
Trinity Park, Clifton, Palm Cove, Kewarra, to Ellis Beach,

Division 12
Smithfield, Redlynch, Lake Placid

Therefore, with just over 8,000 in each Division in the new Regional-not-so-super-Council, the new Division 10 (there are only to be 10) will probably run from Cape Trib to Kewarra Beach inclusive. I think that Councillor will need a large expense account and something slightly bigger than a Daewoo Matiz.

No comments: