Tuesday 18 September 2012

Mareeba and Port Douglas a step closer to Council de-amalgamation

The former Douglas and Mareeba Shires have passed the first process to de-amalgamate from Tablelands Regional Council and Cairns Regional Council.

Local Government Minister David Crisafulli has announced that the former Douglas Shire and Mareeba Shire Council will be examined by Boundaries Commissioner Colin Meng for possible de-amalgamations.

Robert Hanan of Friends of Douglas Shire is pleased with the decision, but is cautious about any early celebration.

"It's still a long way to go," Hanan told CairnsBlog. "This is a good decision, and our financial modelling showed that we did a good submission."

Hanan said he hopes that if the de-amalgamation is successful, the re-established Douglas Shire should expect some money back from Cairns Regional Council that consumed Douglas when the former Labor State Government merged the Councils in 2007.

"There's a strong argument for the return of some money. We will be footing a $3 million bill for this," Robert Hanan said.

Douglas Shire included the boundary just north of Ellis Beach, Wangetti, Port Douglas, Mossman, Daintree, Cape Tribulation, to just South of Wiujal Wujal Aboriginal community, along the Bloomfield Track route.

Isis, Livingston and Noosa Shires have been approved for review. and each will have to find money to pay for the cost to separate. A decision is expected by the end of November.

No comments: